Flare Audio – Ear Protection

I have a love, hate relationship with Facebook. It’s great for staying in touch with people and it’s useful as a basic news aggregator (although RSS feeds read via Feedly is a far superior tool). For example, “Return of the Cafe Racers” and “Dual Sport Delinquents” are good ways to motivate me into restoring a bike and doing some motorcycle adventures.

Then there’s the humour courtesy of the collective wit from the people-of-net.

But I waste too much time on the damn thing (and on browsing the internet in general). It’s a rabbit hole, a time sink, a mental sponge (and all those other good metaphors).

Now Facebook has added ads it the form of “Suggested Posts” (the ad blocker isn’t smart enough for blocking those) but, somewhat fortuitously, that’s how I learnt about Flare Audio’s Isolate Ear Protectors. At the time I was looking into getting some replacement ear plugs for use with the motorcycle (long rides at high speed become a bit much on the ears) and so seeing this ad actually got my curiosity.

It was a Kickstarter campaign and by backing them with a hard-earned £46 I hoped to purchase their ISOLATE® PRO – Titanium ear protectors.

I was curious for a variety of reasons:

  • I needed some ear protectors that were better than the basic foam ear plugs I was using for the motorcycle. Generic silicon ones marketed to motorcyclists are about $30NZ.
  • I own very expensive custom made Etymotic Research earplugs that I use for music rehearsals. They’re amazing. I wanted to compare them.
  • I wanted to see for myself the claims made by Flare that the attenuation was reasonably even against all frequencies.
flare_audio_ear_protection

Fancy packaging for what is essentially a chunk of titanium wrapped in foam tips. Different tip sizes were provided.

Attenuation

noun

Physics. a decrease in a property, as energy, per unit area of a wave or a beam of particles, occurring as the distance from the source increases as a result of absorption, scattering, spreading in three dimensions, etc. [source]

The problem with foam ear plugs is that all the high frequencies attenuate a lot but the lower frequencies get through. The result is an uneven auditory experience were the overall sound is a bit muddy.

Expensive, profession musicians earplugs by the likes of Etymotic do a far better job at attenuating the lower frequencies, therefore creating a more balanced sound. Flare’s titanium (yes, you read that right, freak’n titanium!), ‘wrapped’ in a foam outer is supposed to also achieve the effect of absorbing more of those lower frequencies.

Do they work?

Actually, yeah; perhaps a bit too well. I tested the titanium ear protectors during a band rehearsal and they were too potent; I could hear myself okay but I couldn’t hear my section very well. Hearing people speak was also vastly dulled. Maybe Flare wasn’t bluffing when they claimed the attenuation was high. At least it knocked out the flam’n trumpets and piccolo.

Great for a more muted motorcycle ride though.

The Etymotics don’t kill the sound as much, and the spoken word is far easier to hear (even though my ER25s are marketed as taking 25dB off). The custom silicon fit also means that it also doesn’t have that my-ear-feels-like-it’s-full-of-water-feel, which is what the foam does. I suppose I did pay a small fortune for them so you’d hope them to be better.

Now that I’ve dug up the graphs from both Etymotic and Flare, it seems to imply that Etymotic has more even attenuation across the frequencies whereas Flare’s drops off quite a bit between 1-5kHz. A clarinet’s high G is 1,568 Hz so perhaps it’s not a big deal.

Loud Students

I haven’t used earplugs in lessons for quite a while but more recently I’ve felt a bit sensitive to louder instrument playing. I have two beginner students (clarinet and sax) who both can’t yet control their volume (I don’t to make it a big deal at the moment) but the sound bounces around the walls of my small studio room. Ouch.

I apologise to them (because it seems as little rude, as if I’m trying to blot them out) and put the ear plugs in. Having titanium ear plugs certainly makes for a good show and tell item though.

Leave a Reply

